Super Smash Bros. Melee: A Retrospective

Yesterday I had a blast, one of those moments when you realize “why didn’t I think of that before?”. In this case the thought was Super Smash Bros. Melee. After more than ten years is absolutely normal to forgot a game, especially in a time where games’ appeal last a few months. That was not the case years ago and one proof is the fact that I now remember playing Super Smash Bros. Melee on the Nintendo GameCube for a very long time. All the memories are coming back. I really do not explain to myself how it was possible, we had so much fun.

It’s undeniable that games like this are no longer developed, even by Nintendo. And the question is: why? I mean, the Nintendo E3 presentation was a delusion. Sure they now have all the game the other major consoles have but the first game that I would have presented would have been the great successor of Super Smash Bros. I’m not a Nintendo fan since the end of the GameCube; give me the new Smash Bros. and I pre-order the Wii U immediately. Unfortunately for me, this is not happening; you can keep for yourself Pikmin, Nintendo.

However I’m so glad I was able to experience again feelings buried for ten years. A couple of minutes to get accustomed again with the controls, and the controller itself, and we’re back in the Melee. That was a time where Nintendo gave a new meaning at the words gaming party; everyone wanted to play, we took turns, and the fun! God, how much we enjoyed ourselves. What I’m trying to say is that still now after seeing all the possible things of that game and after playing so much nothing changed. We had the same exact fun we had ten years ago. Nowadays the best party game is still a ten years old game from a ten years old console.

Link: “I’m outta here!”
Peach: “Toad-Shield! I’m too precious!”

“Falcon… Punch!”

I would love to ask Nintendo what the hell is going on with its strategy. Smash Bros. is the ultimate proof that a little intelligence is all it takes to deliver a great experience. Today PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale is on its way and there were rumors for a same project by Microsoft. The exact characteristics are not known but it will be difficult to take the place of Smash Bros, perhaps even impossible; for me at least.

Take characters that made gaming history, put them together and make them battle, is that simple. From 1 to 4 players, various battle modes to choose from and the trick is done. Even the collectibles system is simple and intelligent, nothing strange or impossible to accomplish to get one (a thing very famous at the time), you just enjoy yourself, yelling with your friends during the battle and eventually they fall literally from the sky. Is that simple, truly a game made for rewarding the gamers for their enjoyment. Yes, technology is great but I don’t care of great hardware features when it comes to cheap software. The great adult experience is on other consoles, and party gaming is at the same level on all fronts. At this point I’ll stick with the Xbox 360 and its Kinect.

What I’m trying to say ultimately is that this game reminded me how we don’t need 3D screens, great CPU power or the ultimate wireless features to control something from the kitchen to have fun. Nowadays we are so overwhelmed by technology and marketing strategies are so advanced, so accurate, that we buy what they sell not because we want it but because they tell us we want it; and we don’t even realize it. I felt comforted by the great fun I had playing this game again. I found a piece of myself that I thought was lost. Maybe there is still hope. Just insert a controller and you’re ready to smash your friends out of the screen.

2 responses to “Super Smash Bros. Melee: A Retrospective

  1. I do not even understand how I ended up here, however I thought this put up was good. I don’t recognize who you’re however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger when you are not already. Cheers!

  2. Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your site accidentally, and I am stunned why this accident didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

